May 24, 2013

  • Stoned in “Love”

    I’m seeing one stoner after another, waking up to the fact that most of their “friends” maybe all of them, were only about weed. All your smoking friends are gone, when you do not smoke. When the weed was not there, ether are those friends.

     

    I would say the day you see that is the time to look in the mirror and see if you were any better. Are they the only stoners whose only friendships were only about getting high? This is nothing new they just need to invent a name for it.

    Drinker have their “beer buddies” stoners have what?

Comments (39)

  • lol I have never had many friends. I had one for 25 years and he was there no matter what.

    I guess your point is that people enjoying an addiction together is a false friendship.

  • The whole thing is a mystery to me.

    All I know is that stoners are worse than Jesus freaks when it comes to converting people to the druggy lifestyle.

  • The first person I ever met who was a stoner taught me about that world. He got high with these people who had stolen thousands of dollars worth of camera equipment from him after they got him so drunk he passed out years before. He would not cut them of though because they would share with him when he had none.

    Since then I’ve noted how they are. It seems there is this unwritten rule that if you have some pot and your stoner friend is out, you have to give him at least one joint. And even though they get so completely mean when it has been a while since they smoked, and a lot of them need it to just be normal, they will insist it is not addictive. (This is one way to tell if someone smokes it – ask them if it addictive. The most vocal insistence that it is not possible comes from those who smoke it regularly.)

  • I’ve actually met a few… I know, that’s probably not likely, but remember, I work in public service. The problem with stoners is the attitude more so than the weed; I think. The thinking about getting high and the act of getting high just takes over and these unfortunates let it go until its an addiction. Often by this time weed is mixed with a cocktail of other drugs, alcohol and unhealthy thinking. I’m sure glad that I never lived with addicts.

  • Smoking buddies, maybe?

    It’s unfortunate, really, but that’s how life goes sometimes.

  • Kinda why we left weirdoville

  • Illegal pot smoking shipmates?

    I think this is a trick question.

    Sail on… sail on!!!

  • I am a long time stoner and can identify with them. Yes those situations happen, but shitty friends happen in all circles for people. All these comments speak truth.

    I am the loner stoner type so mary jane was my only friend for years. Honestly it was a good thing I chose to smoke alone most of the time. Most stoners, myself included go that path because of deeper issues within themselves. The ones who just escape from life and drag others down with them would’ve been shitty people no matter what they did.

    Anyways the only point I wanted to say is that you’ll lose people when you change anything. If that one topic was the only thing connecting you. The bond created through smoking weed together is weak. I see it as the same with all drug subcultures, alcohol in particular. I just chose to hang out with stoners and myself instead of drinkers.

    But hey, I’m hella biased.

  • I don’t want to be mean, but who wants to be friends with stereotypical stoners anyways….

  • I have been trying to come up with a catchy or funny name, but I can’t. I’ll just say that people who are selfish, narcissistic, and potential sociopaths rarely form real friendships regardless of whether drugs and alcohol are involved or not.

  • Come on guys, this isn’t that hard.

    Pot = bud.

    Bud buddies.

    Or just Bud-dies.

  • I would rather not be with stoners but there are a lot of folks who need a pacifier. I suppose if they didn’t smoke maybe they would have been even more horrible.

    I used to save cigarette butts because some of the people coming down off their highs would be obnoxious. What to do? give them a used cigarette butt rather than listen to them beg everyone for a cigarette.

  • @PPhilip - That was good way to handle it.

  • @Bobby - Ok that was a good answer

  • @Erika_Steele - And that is the truth. Its when you leave that culture that it can freak you out. Was I like that?

  • @HUMOR_ME_NOW - Its no friendship at all

  • i think that the stronger the weed , the stronger the frienship sometimes…but of course it all goes in smoke as everything does….

  • @locomotiv - That is who I have seen it. The higher they are the deeper the friendship

  • @woslom - You pretty much admitted it, you are biased yes, but you are also very honest

  • @ImNotUglyIJustNeedLove - In high school they are super evangelists

  • I think that in this case, making pot illegal has created a class of people who view themselves much the way the public has portrayed them. You can become what people expect of you, you know.

    My personality is abrasive. I speak the truth without decorum when pressed, and can best be described by a ’70′s poster of the mighty eagle descending on the lowly mouse who can only stand there and flip the eagle off; I’m the mouse. When I get high, which is 24/7, I am much easier to get along with, more patient, and a lot more likely to see the beauty around me. I don’t often just sit around though, I have a lot to do and getting high is a part of it no matter what it is.

    It has helped me not be an ass, and that’s good.

  • I need weed friends. I should check craigslist for them.

  • @TheTheologiansCafe - They have everything on craigslist :/

  • Stoners have their bud(s).

  • @TheTheologiansCafe - You can also buy some old chairs on there to smoke with your new friends in.

  • That’s how it is with all drug addicts who get clean. They typically only have friendships with those who can benefit them with their addiction. For an addict there’s no time or room for any real relationships that they can’t get something out of. I hate the selfishness that’s a part of it.

  • @Yorokobi1010 - Sorry, it’s already been decided that I won. Not that there ever was a question, being that it was my idea and all. But still. I win. You lose.

    You may make me a sammich now.

  • @brown_buffalo - SO you would almost consider it medicinal. I love that poster

  • Maybe it’s just me , but I have some pretty reliable pot-loving friends, who manage to work as professionals during the week and do their thing on the weekend. They’re pretty respectful of that not being my thing. Those I know who smoke pot every day, multiple times a day are a bit less reliable in my experiences.

  • @Ghillies_guide - I’m gritting my teeth. Will not reply. DAMN IT.

  • @Ghillies_guide - Okay Sheldon. Go jump back in your ball pit

  • @steph843 - I was taking about stoners not weekend partiers. With stoners its wake and bake

  • @trunthepaige - I’m not disagreeing with you, I was just stating that as a side note. I know (or have known) quite a few stoners, people who seem to be lighting up every waking hour. Not so reliable, as I said. They tend to have one goal in mind when they’re heavy smokers, and friends and acquaintances lose value when they none. Not trying to be judgmental, just stating my honest observations.

  • *when they have none

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *